Yesterday was Thanksgiving

I ate turkey, stuffing and pie.  I spent the day with family and watching BD have a lightsaber dual with our 11 and 13 year old cousins.  I was a proud mom to a very happy baby boy who decided on this day he was going to be the most fun baby ever.

I could go on about being thankful for family, health and happiness.   Those must be the general ‘go to’ items of thanks.  I think I will take a different approach with my thanks this year.   In no particular order, here are the things I am most thankful for since Thanksgiving 2009.

The Epidural.  No explanation needed here.  After 4 days of labour, my birth plan changed just enough to include every intervention known to man, including the blessed epidural.   

The Mother In Law.  Usually annoying, talks way too much, babies BD, picks on my emotional tendencies, makes rude comments about how ‘fat’ BD is (while looking at me to gauge my reaction and see if this is the time I will explode since he is not fat!) and is so totally awesome with the babe. 

Nursing.  Should be called ‘eat what you want, when you want and the baby weight will still slide off, method of nourishing your child.’

Lightening quick reflexes.  I have yet to be peed on.  (Okay yes, I have been shit on but the reflex thing just doesn’t matter when it comes to shit.)

Being Canadian.  The Olympics were awesome and all but really it is the fact that I get to be a SAHM for one whole year and get paid to do so. 

And…….

Becoming a Mom.  Alright, I went there.  I’m sappy – what can I say?!?

This entry was posted in humour, new mom, random and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment